Inkberrow Bull Reclaimed English Elm Wine Rack

 
Out of stock
 

£495.00

Bottles – 12

Timber – Reclaimed English Elm

Circa – 1700

Height – 183cm

Depth – 20.5cm

Width – 25.5cm

Out of stock

Description

Inkberrow Bull

The Inkberrow Bull is made from a section of reclaimed English Elm. The timber made up part of a farmhouse on a farm in Inkberrow, Worcestershire. As with many older farms over the years farming changed & eventually the main house was no longer in use. Sticks & Stone were able to rescue the farmhouse timbers that once formed the original building structure.

The village now known as Inkberrow has its first recorded mention in the Domesday Book as “Interberga”. The village now boasts a lovely local pub The Old Bull which is a picturesque black and white half-timbered building, situated in front of the church and by the Village Green.

The Old Bull’s present day claim to fame is that the fictional “Bull” in the long-running radio serial “The Archers” is based on it. The pub contains several items of Archers memorabilia, following visits by members of the cast.

Dating from 1700’s the Inkberrow Bull is a historic piece. Timbers from the main farm house were removed due to renovation although some were retained to preserve the heritage. The hand cut notches on the beam & overall shape made it clear that this beam had been used as a mainstay timber within the farmhouse.

This beam has been carefully brought back to life in such a way to showcase its’ original features. The original hand cut mortices make this wine rack a truly stunning piece.

The Inkberrow Bull is a piece full of heritage. Dating back to the 1700’s this unique wine rack survives as a testament to beauty of reclaimed timbers.