The Fosse Four is made from a section of reclaimed English Oak. Dating from around 1850, it was rescued from a house in the village of Stretton on Fosse. The property was subject to extensive renovation which meant Sticks & Stone were able to acquire the timbers.
During the works, some of the original timbers were removed and replaced with more modern RSJ’s. Where possible the removed materials were saved so as to be reused and rejuvenated to bring new life into these wonderful timbers.
Stretton on Fosse lies on the Gloucestershire/Warwickshire border. On the fringe of the Cotswold Hills, this picturesque hamlet has a rich history. It first appears as a listing in the Doomsday book of 1086.
In fact, the word Stretton means “settlement on a Roman road” (from the old English street and tun) and the road of course refers to the Fosse Way. In 1826 a tramway with horse drawn cars passed through the village which evolved into a branch line railway that made a stop here.
The village now enjoys a well supported 17th century pub called The Plough, the delightful grade II listed Church of St Peter, and picture perfect village green. The agricultural history of the area is echoed not only by the name of the pub, but in the buildings that were previously farm workers cottages, and more latterly the rich patchwork of fields that surround the parish.
The Fosse Four now lives on as a fitting tribute to the rich history contained within these original aged timbers.
This is a piece full of heritage. Dating back to the 1800’s this unique wine rack survives as a testament to beauty of reclaimed timbers.