The Exeter Chief is a bespoke piece full of history. Made from a section of reclaimed Pine this wine rack dates back to 1830. The Exeter Chief was rescued from a former chapel on Victoria Street in Exeter city. The timber used was a part of the original building structure.
In recent years the chapel fell into disrepair and was left derelict. In 2017 it was sold to a developer specialising in the conversion of period buildings, and is currently being converted into two magnificent homes.
Whilst many of the original features were retained to add character to the build, some of the old timbers were removed. Sticks & Stone were able to purchase the removed timbers, ready to be brought back to life as unique wine racks. The Exeter Chief created from these very timbers live on as a testament to the old chapel.
Dating back to 1830 The Exeter Chief is bursting with history. The original hand cut notches can be seen & it also features a reclaimed metal chain down one side.
This stunning wine rack can hold 12 bottles of wine. The bottle holes positioned in such a way as to maximise the original features within the timber.
As the original timber is from Victoria Street within Exeter city we have named this wonderful wine rack after the Exeter Chiefs Rugby team which the City’s residents have a huge passion for.